12th Coaches’ Congress in Zwolle/NL on 9 May 2014

28 May 2014 – We were given a cordial welcome to Zwolle by the AEFCA members C.B.V. and V.V.O.N. Some 1,200 national and international coaches took part in the event.

This year’s congress was dedicated to youth training and development. The morning sessions were presented by Michel Hordijk, Technical Coordinator of Ajax Amsterdam’s youth football section, and Martijn Beuker, Technical Coordinator at AZ Alkmaar.

This was followed by the traditional if not legendary “Rinus Michels Awards” presented to honour the best coaches in the professional and amateur game, respectively. Not too surprisingly, Frank de Boer won the award in the professional sector, having won the Dutch Eeredivisie title with Ajax Amsterdam for the fourth consecutive time.

In the afternoon, the focus was on the actual on-pitch action where Ron Jans granted us an insight into his tactical work. Ron is head coach at PEC Zwolle, the team that caused what was arguably the 2013/14 season’s biggest upset by beating favourites Ajax Amsterdam by 5-1 in the Dutch cup final. A panel discussion rounded off the day featuring, amongst others, Co Adriaanse who had many a coach’s tale to tell.

The event has provided further evidence that the Dutch coaching community fully deserves all the praise it has received over the years for constantly driving innovation in the game. Hats off and thank you very much to the two co-organisers for staging an impressive event.

To receive an impression of the day in Zwolle, have a look into the two minutes video you can find here. To find more information on the coaches’ congress, click on www.vvon.nl.

The German version of this report comes courtesy of Philip J. Müller, President of the Union of Swiss Football Coaches (USFT) and one of the AEFCA’s deputy auditors.




SHARE IT: Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google Plus Email

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>