2012 “Coaches of the Year” Awards

19 June 2012  –  At the League Managers Association (LMA) 20th Annual Awards Dinner at the historic Old Billingsgate in London on 14 May, Newcastle United’s Alan Pardew (50) was honoured with the prestigious LMA Manager of the Year Award 2012.

The award, sponsored by Barcleys, is voted by all managers from the four professional leagues in English football. Alan Pardew has earned it not only by surprisingly finishing 5th in the Premier League but also for the entertaining and attacking football being played by his team. In addition, Pardew and his backroom team have also been highly commended on their recruitment of players like Papiss Cisse, Demba Ba and others.

The award was presented by new England manager and LMA President as well as the 2010 LMA Manager of the Year, Roy Hodgson. Representing the AEFCA, General Secretary Karlheinz Raviol attended the event.

To find more about the event and the LMA itself, please visit www.leaguemanagers.com and click on “Events”, thereafter “Past LMA Events”.

At the 10th Dutch coaches’ congress in Zwolle  –  jointly organised by the country’s two coaches organisations CBV and VVON –   Feyenoord Rotterdam’s head coach Ronald Koeman (49) was honoured with the “Rinus Michels Award” as the Netherlands’ best pro coach of the 2011/12 season.

A total of 38 coaches employed in professional football had been invited to cast their vote, favouring Koeman narrowly over his countryman, 42-year-old Frank de Boer (Ajax Amsterdam).

Further awards were bestowed on Eric Meijers (48, Achilles’29) as best amateur coach, as well as on Feyenoord/Excelsior and HHC Hardenberg representing the professional and amateur sectors, respectively, for their excellent youth and talent promotion record, with Feyenoord/Excelsior winning the prize for the third year running.

Attended by 1,200 participants from all provinces (as well as a number of delegates from other AEFCA member organisations), the event took place in the Landstede sports complex and in the stadium of newly-promoted „Eredivisie“ club FC Zwolle.

For further information on the “10. Nederlands Trainerscongres”, visit www.coachesbv.nl and/or  www.vvon.nl.





SHARE IT: Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google Plus Email

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>