Lothar Meurer, long-time chief executive of the Association of German Football Coaches (BDFL), one of the founding fathers of the UEFT and ist General Secretary from the very beginning, suddenly died of a severe illness on 6 June 2002. His life and work for the Union are unequalled, his contributions and untiring commitment invaluable.

To honour the man and his legacy, the Lothar Meurer Honorary Award was created in 2003, to be bestowed on UEFT members who have excelled in their respective fields.


The first laureate to receive the trophy, which is custom-made by Czech master craftsmen, was UEFT Honorary President Norbert Konter/ Luxembourg in 2003. On the occasion of the XXIV UEFT Symposium in Kusadasi, Turkey, he received the award from President Dr. Jozef Vengloš.



The following year, the privilege of handing over the Award fell to Lothar Meurer’s wife (and UEFT secretary since day one), Uschi. At the XXV UEFT Symposium in Estoril, Portugal, she presented Ernest Jacky, the UEFT treasurer of many years, with the Award that bears her late husband’s name .



Andy Roxburgh (center), Technical Director of UEFA,was honoured with the Lothar Meurer Honorary Award at the 27th UEFT Symposium November 2006 in Prague (Photo: AEFCA).



2010 Award Winner Dr. Jozef Vengloš (left) with laudator Andy Roxburgh. Photo: Lutz Hangartner



Dr. Jozef Vengloš hands over the award to 2011 winner Ismail Dilber. Photo: TÜFAD



2013 Award Winner Gérard Houllier (centre) – at present Global Sporting Director Red Bull Soccer – at the 34th AEFCA Symposium in Antalya. Being honored by AEFCA’s 3rd Vice-President Craig Brown (right) and General Secretary Karlheinz Raviol. Photo: TÜFAD


2003 Norbert Konter Luxemburg
2004 Ernest Jacky Frankreich
2005 René Hüssy Schweiz
2006 Andy Roxburgh Schottland
2010 Dr. Jozef Vengloš Slovakische Republik
2011 Ismail Dilber Türkei
2013 Gérard Houllier Frankreich