News at a glance (8)

24 January 2012 – Baton changes: Henryk Kasperczak, former Poland head coach and Vice-President of the Polish coaches’ association, has taken over the Presidency in a caretaker capacity from Andrzej Strejlau who retired for health reasons.

New elections are scheduled to take place in May later this year. Find the new contact details under “Member Organisations – Poland”.

Similar news have reached us from Belarus, where Mikhail Vergeenko, the new Technical Director of the national association (BFF) took over from former Belarus head coach Bernd Stange as head of the Belarus coaches’ association. Please click on “Member Organisations – Belarus” for further details.

Congratulations: Joining the ranks of well-wishers worldwide, the AEFCA sent most cordial birthday greetings to Sir Alex Ferguson who turned 70 on 31 December 2011. The celebrated manager has been at the helm at Old Trafford for the past 25 years, collecting not fewer than 47 titles including 12 EPL championships, five FA Cups, and two UEFA Champions League trophies.

On 19 January 2012, AEFCA Treasurer Wim Adolfsen from The Netherlands celebrated his 60th birthday, having been preceded on 9 January 2012 by compatriot Gerard Marsman, who is Managing Director of the (professional) Coaches Betaald Voetbal (CBV), our other Dutch member being the VVON.

Swedish-born Pia Sundhage, head coach of the U.S. national women’s team in 2011 and a much-applauded presenter at the recent 32nd AEFCA Symposium in Antalya, came second in the Women’s Football Coach of the Year vote organised by FIFA as part of the world football governing body’s annual Ballon d’Or celebrations in Zurich on 9 January 2012. First place went to Japan head coach Norio Sasaki who led the Japanese women to 2011 World Cup glory.


Best wishes and heartfelt congratulations to all of the above!





SHARE IT: Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google Plus Email

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>