About us


An idea becomes reality

By the 1970s, the Association of German Football Coaches (BDFL, Bund Deutscher Fußball-Lehrer) was organising its International Coaches’ Congress (Internationaler Trainer-Kongress, ITK) on a regular basis, a much-appreciated opportunity for coaches from different countries to get together and exchange views. People soon saw the need for an organisation in its own right, so that the UEF was founded in Vienna on 12 January 1980, with representatives from eight nations being the founding members:

Board and Founding Members of the UEF

• Franz Leidl (Austria) President
• Arthur Lenz (Denmark) 1st Vice-President
• Fritz Buchloh (Germany) 2nd Vice-President
• Willy Scholer (Luxembourg) 3rd Vice-President
• Lothar Meurer (Switzerland) General Secretary (also of the BDFL)
Herbert Widmayer (Germany), Owe Bonnesen (Denmark), Frans de Bruyn (Netherlands), Albert Adams (Luxembourg), Reynir Karlsson (Iceland), Karl Decker (Austria), René Hüssy (Switzerland), and Manuel Alepuz (Spain) were the other Board members.

Download UEFT PDF


The AEFCA pursues the following aims and objectives:

a) Representing its member associations at European level;

b) Representing licensed football coaches at European level;

c) Organizing an annual symposium as a forum for further education for licensed coaches and an international platform for the exchange of experience, opinions, suggestions, visions, and ideas;

d) Assisting with intensifying, and improving the standard of, coach education throughout Europe;

e) Closely cooperating with UEFA and its affiliated associations, with FIFA and all other international sports organisations, as well as with the media (written press, radio and television);

f) Advancing and promoting intensive, individual, and creative training and education of young talents in Europe;

g) Taking adequate action safeguarding that football remains the “Number One Sport” in Europe;

h) Improving the public image of the coaching profession by adopting appropriate PR activities;

i) Respecting and promoting the spirit of Fair Play, as well as observing the principles of sport in all coach and coaching-related issues;

j) The AEFCA observes the principle of strict neutrality in all issues of politics, race and religions. It will protect the right of all member associations and their affiliated members to be treated in accordance with the principles of law and equity, and it will ensure that equal treatment will be afforded to all, irrespective of their descent, gender, nationality, denomination, ethnic origin, political belief or commitment to any party or union.

k) Respecting and promoting honesty and integrity in the coaching profession, and dealing internally, to the extent possible, with any transgressions against these principles.

Honorary Presidents

Name Country Nominated
Franz Leidl † Austria 1986
Herbert Widmayer † Germany 1995
Dr. Jozef Vengloš Slovakia 2013

Honorary Vice-Presidents

Name Country Nominated
Georges Boulogne † France 1995
René Hüssy † Switzerland 1995
John Calogeras Greece 2001
Norbert Konter Luxembourg 2004

Honorary Members

Name   Country   Nominated
Fritz Buchloh †   Germany   1986
Arthur Lenz †   Denmark   1986
Manuel Alepuz Andrés †   Spain   1989
Spartaco Fugani †   Switzerland   1989
Giuliano Zani †   Italy   1989
Dr. Václav Jíra †   Czech Republic   1993 posthum
Hermann Höfer †   Germany   1997 posthum
Sir Bobby Robson †   England   1998
Andy Roxburgh   Scotland   1998
Lothar Meurer †   Switzerland   2004 posthum
Ernest Jacky   France   2004
René Basler   Switzerland   2007
Walter Gagg   Switzerland   2007
Ramón Cobo Antoranz †   Spain   2009 posthum


Year   City   Country      
2016   Como   Italy   More  
2015   Sochi   Russia   More  
2014   Zagreb   Croatia      
2013   Antalya   Turkey      
2012   Split   Croatia      
2011   Antalya   Turkey      
2010   Warsaw   Poland      
2009   Minsk   Belarus      
2008   Frankfurt   Germany      
2007   Helsinki   Finland      
2006   Prague   Czech Republic      
2005   Basel   Switzerland      
2004   Estoril (Lisbon)   Portugal      
2003   Kusadasi   Turkey      
2002   Paris   France      
2001   Bratislava   Slovakia      
2000   Frankfurt   Germany      
1999   London (Wembley)   England      
1998   Seville   Spain      
1997   Shefayim   Israel      
1996   Athens   Greece      
1995   Limassol   Cyprus      
1994   Porto   Portugal      
1993   Kusadasi   Turkey      
1992   Monte Carlo   Monaco      
1991   Bratislava   CSSR      
1990   Coverciano (Florence)   Italy      
1989   Tenerife   Spain      
1988   Gothenburg   Sweden      
1987   Athens   Greece      
1986   Neuchâtel   Switzerland      
1985   Coverciano (Florence)   Italy      
1984   Athens   Greece      
1983   Zug   Switzerland      
1982   Copenhagen   Denmark      
1981   Luxembourg   Luxembourg      
1980   Mattersburg   Austria