Van Gaal honoured with “Rinus Michels Award”

10 June 2009 – Approximately 1200 coaches from all provinces of The Netherlands got together on 23 May 2009 for the 7th edition of the Dutch coaches’ congress, jointly organised by the two responsible bodies, the Coaches Betaald Voetbal (CBV) and the Vakbond Voetbal Oefenmeesters Nederland (VVN), both of which are AEFCA members.

In their capacity of AEFCA delegates, President Dr Jozef Vengloš and General Secretary Karlheinz Raviol attended the event and were privileged to witness an excellent programme including four high-calibre practical demonstrations in the fine stadium that is home to the Eeredivisie club, “Willem II”.
Every year, coaches are invited to vote on who from amongst their ranks shall receive the “Rinus Michels Award”. The ceremony was another highlight, with this year’s honours in the category “Pro-Coaches” going to soon-to-be FC Bayern coach Louis van Gaal who, to many experts’ surprise, had led AZ Alkmaar to Dutch championship glory this past season. The runners-up were Mario Been (NEC Nijmegen) and former England coach Steve McClaren whose FC Twente Enschede came second in the Eeredivisie title race.
Sparta Rotterdam received the prize for the best youth academy in Dutch professional football, and the lifetime award “for extraordinary merit” went to Foppe de Haan, CBV President and U21 European Championship winner in 2006 and 2007.
Learn more about the “7. Nederlandse Trainerscongres” by clicking on “Member Organisations” and selecting The Netherlands on the map of Europe.

SHARE IT: Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google Plus Email

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>